A Formal Introduction

I’ve been putting off this first post for a while now, mainly because it’s difficult to put together all the thoughts I’ve been having about the trail. With only about a month left until I step foot on Springer Mountain, I’m feeling more anxious than anything. I am so ready to be putting one foot in front of the other, making my way slowly but surely to Mt. Katahdin. For those of you wondering what exactly I’m talking about, let me back up a little bit for you.

The 5 w’s of my hike

My name is Pj Coleman. I’m 18 years old and live just outside of Richmond, Virginia. Starting on March 1st, 2015, I will be one of the many attempting a thru hike of the Appalachian Trail, otherwise known as the AT. The AT crosses through 14 states and covers about 2185 miles from Springer Mountain in Georgia to Mt. Katahdin in Maine.

A lot of people might wonder why anyone would want to live in the woods through the cold and the rain for 6 months straight while carrying a heavy pack up mountains all day. On top of seeing the beauty of the Appalachian Mountain Range, I need time to reflect on the mistakes I’ve made in my past and figure out what I want for myself in the future. Successfully completing this challenge will be a huge confidence booster and push me to my physical and mental limits. It will be a life changing and unforgettable experience, plus hiking the AT sounds like way more fun than going to college!

In the meantime

31 more days. I can not express how excited I am for this new chapter of my life. One person I talked to recently who thru hiked in 2014 said that one of the hardest parts of the hike is letting go of your previous life and taking on anew. I am so ready to do just that.

For the time being, I’ll be patiently waiting as the days go by. Posts will be limited until I actually start my thru hike, where I will be posting all of my daily journal entries as often as possible as well as pictures videos. I hope you all will continue to follow me on my journey!

Until next time,

Pj

5 thoughts on “A Formal Introduction

  1. Good luck with the hike. Now’s as a good as any to get out on the trail. I hope to get out one day and finish the hike I started years ago. Maine is a great destination and the view from the top of Katahdin can’t be beat. It’s true wilderness there.

    Like

  2. I’m so excited for you as you begin this journey. I will be thinking of you every step of the way and can’t wait to see your updates. See you at the Delaware Water Gap. Love you and be safe.πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow so amazing your mom and dad must be so proud. I remember when you err just a baby and now this amazing journey, you are ao strong and powerful tone doing this amazing thing. Good luck and I plan on following you on this amazing journey.

    Like

  4. Wow so amazing your mom and dad must be so proud. I remember when you were just a baby and now this amazing journey, you are so strong and powerful to be doing this amazing thing. Good luck and I plan on following you on this amazing journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As a fellow nature lover, lifetime hiker and naturalist, I envy and applaud your journey in ‘finding PJ’…We met a guy while hiking Old Rag that had done the entire AT as well and couldn’t stop hiking after that…it had become so embedded in who he was. We enjoyed hearing tales about his experiences along the way, the many interesting and diverse people he met, and the highlights of the most beautiful parts. From what I hear the reward at the end , Mt Katahdin is well worth the journey. Be safe and I”ll end with part of an Irish blessing:

    may a rainbow be sure to follow each rain;
    may the hand of a friend always be near you;
    may God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you;

    and may you be in heaven a half hour before the devil knows you are dead…

    Like

Leave a Reply

